The Partnership for Patient Care (PPC) is a collaboration between Independence Blue Cross and the Philadelphia region’s hospitalsThis unique collaboration between payer and providers to jointly fund quality and patient safety improvement initiatives has been recognized as a national model. Since its creation in 2006, PPC projects have strived to accelerate the adoption of evidence-based clinical practices by pooling the resources, knowledge, and efforts of health care providers and partners.  Topics are selected by HCIF’s Clinical Advisory Committee, a voluntary expert panel of healthcare providers and partners from organizations across Southeastern Pennsylvania.

PPC Contributors and Participants

Crozer-Keystone Health System

Crozer-Keystone Health System

Crozer-Chester Medical Center

Delaware County Memorial Hospital

Doylestown Hospital
Einstein Healthcare Network

Einstein Healthcare Network

Einstein Medical Center Montgomery

Einstein Medical Center Philadelphia

Grand View Hospital
Holy Redeemer Health System
Jefferson Health

Jefferson Health

Abington Hospital

Abington Lansdale Hospital 

Jefferson Bucks Hospital

Jefferson Frankford Hospital

Jefferson Methodist Hospital

Jefferson Torresdale Hospital

Magee Rehabilitation Hospital

Thomas Jefferson University Hospital   

Main Line Health

Main Line Health 

Bryn Mawr Hospital

Lankenau Medical Center

Paoli Hospital 

Riddle Hospital

St. Mary Medical Center
Temple University Health System

Temple University Health System

Fox Chase Cancer Center

Jeanes Hospital

Temple University Hospital

Trinity Health Mid-Atlantic
2019 HCIF & PASHRM Spring Conference

Michael Leonard, MD, Founder, Safe & Reliable Healthcare

A Systematic Approach to Safe and High Reliability Care

IHI White Paper “A Framework for Safe, Reliable, and Effective Care”

Pam Braun, BSN, MSN, Vice President of Clinical Improvement, Health Care Improvement Foundation

Regional Safe Community

Karen M. Perez, RN-BC, BSN, Team Coordinator, 2 Lenfest Surgical Intermediate Unit, Abington Hospital-Jefferson Health & Megan Reinhart, RN-BC, BSN, Team Coordinator, 2 Lenfest, Abington Hospital-Jefferson Health

Reducing Postoperative Complications: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Early and Consistent Ambulation

Juliane Jablonski, DNP, RN, CCRN, CCNS, Critical Care Systems Strategist, Penn Medicine

ICU Liberation: Executing the “ABCDEF” Bundle Daily

Thomas P. Cleary, BSN, RN, Clinical Manager, Einstein Medical Center Montgomery & Scott D. Alcott, MSN, RN, Director of Nursing Education & Professional Development, Einstein Medical Center Montgomery

Preventing Opioid-Induced Ventilatory Impairment (OIVI) in Medical Surgical Patients

2018 PPC Leadership Summit

Barbara Balik, EdD, RN of Aefina Partners

Creating Safety and Joy in Work: 4 Leadership Actions

“’What Matters to You?’ Conversation Guide for Improving Joy in Work”


Liz Owens, MS, Project Coordinator, Health Care Improvement Foundation

Delaware Valley Patient Safety & Quality Award Program


Megan Heere, MD, Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University; Medical Director of Well Baby Nursery, Temple University Hospital

SAFE-T Program


Bea Leyden, BSN, MBA, RN, CPHQ, NEA-BC, Director of Nursing Clinical Practice and  Performance Improvement, Jefferson Health – Northeast

Progressive Mobility (PM): Evidence Based Program Improves Outcomes in Critically Ill Patients


Geno J Merli, MD, MACP, FSVM, FHM, Professor of Medicine & Surgery and Associate Chief Medical Officer at Sidney Kimmel Medical College, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital

Implementation of a Patient Blood Management Program


Edouard Trabulsi, MD, FACS, Professor & Vice Chair of  Department of Urology, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital

PURC: Improving Prostate Cancer Care Delivery


Claudette Fonshell RN, BSN, Director of Clinical Improvement, Health Care Improvement Foundation

Regional Safe Community

2017 PPC Leadership Summit

Subha Airan-Javia, MD, Associate CMIO, Director of Care Transitions, Director of IT & Handoff Education, Dept. of Medicine, Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

2016 Delaware Valley Patient Safety & Quality Award First Place Winner: University of Pennsylvania Health System” with attached PDF 2 Safety Award Presentation

Christina Michalek, BSc, Pharm, RPh, FASHP, Medication Safety Specialist, ISMP

Improving Safety of CPOE Through Event-Based Testing

James P. Bagian, MD, PE, Director, Center for Healthcare Engineering and Patient Safety; Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and the College of Engineering, University of Michigan

More Than Root Cause Analysis: Implementing Actions to Prevent Harm

Pam Braun, BSN, MSN, Senior Director of Clinical Improvement, HCIF, and Ronni P. Solomon, JD, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, ECRI Institute

PPC Collaborative: Regional Safe Community

2016 PPC Leadership Summit

Pat Croskerry, MD, PhD, FRCP (Edin), Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine Director, Critical Thinking Program, Division of Medicine Education, Faculty of Medicine, Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia CANADA

Keynote Presentation: Diagnostic Errors

Marci Ruediger, PT, MS, Director of Performance Excellence, Magee Rehabilitation

2015 Delaware Valley Patient Safety & Quality Award Program First Place Winner: Magee Rehabilitation

Robert G. Uzzo, MD, FACS, Professor and Chairman, Department of Surgery, Fox Chase Cancer Center, Temple University School of Medicine, and Marc C. Smaldone, MD, MSHP, Assistant Professor of Urologic Oncology, Department of Surgery, Fox Chase Cancer Center, Temple University Health System

Pennsylvania Urologic Regional Collaborative

2015 PPC Leadership Summit

Martin Makary, MD, MPH, Professor of Surgery and Health Policy, Johns Hopkins University

Keynote Presentation: Art, Assassination, and America ‘How Transparency Disrupts an Industry and Changes a Nation

Denise Murphy, BSN, MPH, CIC , VP Quality and Patient Safety, Main Line Health

2014 Delaware Valley Patient Safety & Quality Award First Place Award Winner: Main Line Health

Michael Laign, President & CEO, Holy Redeemer Health System, and Erik Muther, Managing Director, PHCQA

Partnership for Patient Care Ten Year Anniversary Report

Susan Choi, PhD, CPHQ, Senior Director, Quality Partnerships & Initiatives, HCIF

2 ETA ED Transitions Collaborative Update_PPC Summit 2015_FINAL

Pam Braun, RN, MSN, Senior Director, Patient Safety Partnerships & Initiatives, HCIF

PPC Collaborative Update: Introducing PURC Pennsylvania Regional Urology Collaborative

2014 PPC Leadership Summit

Michael Leonard, MD, Managing Partner, Safe & Reliable Healthcare LLC

Keynote Presentation: Safety Culture Evolves ‘Is Yours Proactive or Reactive?

Maureen Ann Frye, MSN, CRNP, CPPS, CPHQ, Director, Center for Patient Safety and Quality, Abington Memorial Hospital

2013 Delaware Valley Patient Safety & Quality Award First Place Award Winner: Abington Memorial Hospital

Susan Choi, PhD, CPHQ, Director, Quality Partnerships & Initiatives, HCIF, Jane Feinman, RN, MSN, Senior Vice President of Hospice, VNA Hospice of Philadelphia, and Elizabeth Menschner, RN, MAS, MSN, NEA-BC, Director of Nursing, Cardio-Pulmonary & Transplant, Temple University Hospital

CARE 4 Us: Promoting Improvements in Palliative Care in SE PA & Partner Presentation from Temple University Hospital

Susan Choi, PhD, CPHQ, Senior Director, Quality Partnerships & Initiatives, HCIF

2 ETA ED Transitions Collaborative Update_PPC Summit 2015_FINAL

Claudette Fonshell, RN, BSN, Clinical Project Manager, HCIF

Pennsylvania Obstetric Adverse Events Collaborative

Susan Cosgrove, MPA, Project Manager, HCIF

Introducing ETA: Emergency Transition Advances Collaborative